NECAT Beamline

The Northeastern Collaborative Access Team (NE-CAT) facility at the Advanced Photon Source at Argonne National Laboratory is managed by Cornell University and consists of seven member institutions:

  • Columbia University
  • Cornell University
  • Harvard University
  • Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
  • Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Rockefeller University
  • Yale University.

    Primary funding for this project comes from the National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS) , a division of the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Additional financial support for NE-CAT comes from the member institutions.

    NIGMS at a Glance.

    Supported by:

    National Institutes of Health
    National Institute of General Medical Sciences

    Status of NE-CAT Sector 24 Activities

    June 2016

    New Vertical Focusing Mirrors on 24-ID-C and 24-ID-E

    At the beginning of Jun 2016, NE-CAT spent a week testing the new Vertical Focusing Mirrors (VFMs) on 24-ID-C and 24-ID-E.  The new mirrors are capable of producing a much smaller beam in the vertical direction, reducing the vertical beam size from 30 microns to 7 microns on 24-ID-C and from 20 microns to 5 microns on 24-ID-E.  Initial studies suggest a 3-4 fold increase in brilliance on both beamlines.

    Figure 1 – New beam profile after installation of the VFM on 24-ID-E.

    Figure 2 – New beam profile after installation of the VFM on 24-ID-C.

    HDRMX Meeting, Remote Viewing and Participation

    On May 26-28 2016, The High Data-Rate MX Meeting was held at Brookhaven National Laboratory to discuss the changes software developers are making to data processing and beamline-specific programs to handle the HDF5 format which is used by the EIGER Detector.  Many people at the APS were interested in participating, but space was limited at Brookhaven.  Jon Schuermann organized a satellite video conference of the meeting in conference room of the Advanced Protein Crystallization Facility to allow all the interested staff scientists and engineers at the APS take part in the meeting.