NECAT Beamline

The Northeastern Collaborative Access Team (NE-CAT) facility at the Advanced Photon Source at Argonne National Laboratory is managed by Cornell University and consists of seven member institutions:

  • Columbia University
  • Cornell University
  • Harvard University
  • Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
  • Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Rockefeller University
  • Yale University.

    Primary funding for this project comes from the National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS) , a division of the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Additional financial support for NE-CAT comes from the member institutions.

    NIGMS at a Glance.

    Supported by:

    National Institutes of Health
    National Institute of General Medical Sciences

    NE-CAT Participants:

    To request beamtime please email: Raj Rajashankar and Cyndi Salbego.

    If you need to reach someone who is on our beamline or one of our staff, please see our Contact List.   

    For any other information or questions, please feel free to contact Cyndi Salbego, email: or phone: 630-252-0689.

    New User Information:

    General information about the APS user program can be found at  New users should consult the APS New User Checklist for detailed information on how to become an user, the APS Registration Process, User Agreements, establishment of a user account for supplies and services, delivery of samples and required training.

    Travel and lodging:

    For information regarding your trip to NE-CAT and the APS please see our list of resources, -Travel and Lodging-.   Site Access to the laboratory is only permitted with an ID badge or a visitor pass.

    Samples and Shipping:

    Samples must also follow proper shipping methods to be allowed in/out the APS.